+(630) 653-0202

Timothy P. Whelan


Timothy P. Whelan



(630) 653-0202
Timothy P. Whelan is owner/partner of Timothy Whelan Law Associates, Ltd. in Glen Ellyn, DuPage County, Illinois. Tim Whelan has been licensed to practice law in Illinois since 1980 after graduation from The John Marshall Law School, Chicago, IL. Tim has been in private practice of law for 37 years in DuPage County and surrounding suburban courts. The firm provides legal services in civil litigation, family law, real estate, bankruptcy and business transactions.  We have represented hundreds of client in dissolution proceedings, child custody and support as well as financial issues related to division of marital and non marital assets in family law cases. Bankruptcy and real estate transactions  are often necessary considerations after dissolution proceedings to deal with assets and debt.  Our firm has 35 years of skilled legal services in both areas to give clients a clean break from the past and a clear direction for the future.  Adversary proceedings in bankruptcy Civil litigation and civil money awards recovered by Tim Whelan have  included major personal injury and wrongful death claims from automobile and train accidents and simple slip and falls.  Recovery for medical bills,  pain and suffering, lost wages and loss of  normal life activities are damages obtained for our clients. Our firm does practice in criminal defense as well.  Tim Whelan served  as a  DuPage County Assistant State’s Attorney prosecuting thirteen jury trial to verdict.   Tim went into private practice as a defense attorney.  He has successfully defended hundreds of clients in traffic, misdemeanor and felony charges. Tim is a licensed trial attorney in Federal Court and Federal Bankruptcy Court as well.   He has been a member of the DuPage County Bar Association and the Illinois Bar Association for the 37 years. Tim has twice been elected to the DCBA Board as a Director.  In addition to the practice of law, Tim Whelan is an elected official in DuPage County as a Forest Preserve Commissioner since 2012.